On Bravery

I thought I would devote this entry to discussing the idea of quitting the corporate world and doing what we really want to do. This could descend into a circular argument of drivel and cliché so I give you permission to stop reading early if I lapse.
I have this friend who I used to work with me here in the land of suits, where the possession of a conscience is seen as less necessary than the possession of an ability to accept high wages for low output. I should say that not everyone plays by the requirements set out immediately above. I am fortunate to work with some very good people who work very hard for their clients but lets be honest here, none of us are working on a cure for cancer; except those guys and girls on level 27. No one knows what goes on up there!
Anyway, I digress. My friend had the courage to leave banking and try to start her own business. I found this tremendously brave and I looked up to her deeply for this. Sadly, that dream is now on hold but she has well and truly landed on her feet in another industry where she is kicking goals and advancing at a rate of knots. What got me thinking was why don’t we make that jump more often? Or to be more precise, why don’t more of us make that jump?
I have another friend, my best friend actually, who left a high paying job in one of Australia’s leading companies to become a teacher. I, on the other hand, took a reverse direction to his. I left a career where I was serving my country, seeing the world and where every day was challenging, interesting, rewarding and left me with a great sense of achievement to join the corporate world so that I could gain a piece of the pie that is this economic engine we work in. And the gloss has definitely worn off.
Do we stay working in environments that no longer challenge us because we are apathetic and could not be bothered? I think that’s certainly a part of it. Or we have grown accustomed to electricity and food in the fridge and worry that we could not get a job elsewhere in the economy that affords our current standard of living? More likely than not. Certainly, in most jobs, there is a certain level of satisfaction about doing our jobs well, no matter what they are. Eventually there will come a time when we cannot do it anymore and decide that the joys of getting that spreadsheet to balance or making money on that particular deal no longer compensate for what we are missing out on.
Unfortunately, that particular moment of insight comes along too late for most and we look back and ask ourselves what we were thinking. It is for that reason that I admire those people, including my dear friends mentioned above who have had that enlightenment so early in their lives and who have made the leap into the unknown. One day I will join them and i guess the fact that I have written this piece means that I am on that journey myself. It gives me hope that those I care about have already navigated the way.
My karma is particular good at the moment I guess.

Leave a Reply

